As an Xray administrator, you can create and manage globally available Test Types.

A Test Type characterizes the Test in terms of its nature, so it can be clearly be distinguished from other Tests.

An Xray Test Type can be one of three kinds:

  • Steps: structured; composed of multiple steps
  • Unstructured: it has only one Definition field that can be used to define the Test case
  • Gherkin: a test composed of Gherkin statements.

By default, upon installation, Xray will create the following Test Types:

RankTest TypeKind




The rank is used as sorting criteria when showing the options for the values of the Test Type of some Test case. The default Test Type will be used when a Test issue is created.

Create a Test Type

To create a new Test Type, go to the Add New Test Type section at the bottom of the page, fill out the following fields, and then press Add:

  • Option: the name for the Test Type option
  • Kind: the nature of the Test Type (e.g., Steps, Unstructured, Gherkin)

Deleting a Test Type

Custom test types can also be deleted from Xray. To delete an existing test type:

  1. Click Delete on the table entry corresponding to the test type.
  2. Click Confirm.

Note: When deleting a global Test Type, all Tests in projects using that Test Type will be affected.

Changing the order of a Test Type

The order by which the Test Type options appear in the Test Type selection dropdown in a Test issue can be modified by using the arrows available in the Order column.

One Test Type must be set as the default and will be used whenever Test issues are created. 

  • No labels